• School Bus (S) endorsement — A school bus endorsement is required for
anyone transporting students from school to home, home to school, and
to and from school-sponsored events. A school bus endorsement may be
issued to drivers age 21 or older who hold a Class E (For-Hire) license or a
commercial license with a Passenger (P) endorsement. A school bus
endorsement can be suspended for one year if a person fails to pass any
drug, alcohol, or chemical test administered in accordance with any federal
or state law, rule, or regulation regarding the operation of a school bus.
Missouri law has special operating regulations for school buses. If you
need more information on school buses
, contact: Missouri Department
of Elementary and Secondary Education, Division of Administrative and
Financial Services — School Transportation, e-mail: webreply@dmpt.
; phone: (573) 751-0357; fax: (573) 526-6898.
• Motorcycle (M) endorsement — A motorcycle endorsement on an
operator or higher class license is required if you operate a motorcycle or
motortricycle on public roadways. To add the motorcycle endorsement to
an existing license you will need to pass the motorcycle written test,
vision, road sign, and a skills test on a motorcycle or motortricycle. For
more information about Missouri’s motorcycle laws
, please obtain a copy
of the Motorcycle Operator Manual at the Missouri Highway Patrol testing
station or at one of our license offices.
• Additional endorsements are available if you have a Commercial Driver
License or Commercial Learner’s Permit. For more information, please
see the Commercial Driver License Manual, available from the Missouri
State Highway Patrol, license offices, or our web site at http://dor.mo.gov/
RENEWING A LICENSE OR PERMIT
The department will mail you a reminder to renew before your license expires.
A renewal notice will not be mailed for a temporary instruction permit or
commercial learner’s permit. The reminder will be sent to the mailing address
on your driver record. When you move, you may update your address in one
of the following ways:
• Complete an address change at your local license office;
• On-line at http://dor.mo.gov/
• Send an e-mail to email@example.com
• Send a written notice with your new address to the
Driver License Bureau
, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200.
Your reminder will state the fee required to renew your license. You can
renew your license up to 6 months before it expires. Each time you renew,
you will be required to take the vision and road sign test.
It is your responsibility to renew your driver license, even if you do not
receive your reminder. Failure to renew promptly may cause you to have to
retake the written and driving tests. You can be ticketed for driving without
a valid license. Exception: If you will be leaving the state/country for an
extended time you may request an early renewal of your driver license at
your local license office.
A driver license may be valid for up to 6 years. If you allow it to expire, you
must not drive. If you would like to continue driving uninterrupted
, you must
renew your license before it expires. If you do not renew your license within 6
months (or 184 days) after its expiration date, you will have to take the written
and driving tests (see Chapter 2), in addition to the vision and road sign tests.
License offices are usually busiest at the end of each month. Since you
may renew your license up to 6 months (184 days) before it expires, you are
encouraged to select a time to avoid the longer lines. If the renewal dates
for your driver license and motor vehicle registration renewal are within 6
months, you may be able to complete both renewals at the same time and
save yourself a trip later to the license office.
Renewal by Mail for Active Duty Members of the Armed Forces
Missouri allows renewal by mail for members of the armed forces and their
dependents. Applicants should submit a Mail-In Driver License Application
) (available on-line at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4317.pdf
faxed upon request), along with required documents and fees.
Missouri allows a renewal without re-examination for members of the armed
forces whose license has expired while out of state, for up to six months
from honorable discharge or within ninety days of reestablishing residency
in Missouri, whichever occurs first. The expired Missouri license and
discharge papers must be submitted at the time of application in addition to
other applicable renewal documents. The expired license is not valid for
driving. These provisions only waive re-examination and do not extend the
actual driving privileges beyond the expiration date.
Lost, Stolen, or Destroyed License
If your license expires or is lost or stolen while you are out of state, you may
request a Mail-In Driver License Application (Form 4317) by phone at (573)
751-4600 or download the form on our web site at http://dor.mo.gov/
If your license is lost, stolen, or destroyed, you must apply for a duplicate
license. If your current license expires within the next 6 months, you may
renew your license early rather than obtain a duplicate license. This saves
you time and money.
Renewing When Your License is Suspended or Revoked
If you held a non-commercial driver license
, you may take the vision and
road sign tests and renew your license even while your driving privilege is
suspended. However, if your driving privilege has been revoked, you may
only renew your license during the revocation if it resulted from your refusal
to take a chemical test, from an “abuse and lose” court order, or a minor in
You will not receive your license back until you have completed your
reinstatement requirements and your driving privilege has been reinstated.
OTHER INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR DRIVER LICENSE
• Organ, Eye and Tissue Donor Information
When you apply for a new, renewal, or duplicate instruction permit, driver
or nondriver license you will be asked two very important questions at the
time you make your application.