Driver Guide


Yüklə 46,89 Kb.
Pdf görüntüsü
ölçüsü46,89 Kb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   37

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public 
roadways in Missouri is required to have a valid driver license.  You may 
obtain a Missouri driver license at any one of Missouri’s 178 license offices.
You must have a Missouri driver license if:
•  You live in Missouri, are 16 years of age or older, and plan to drive.
•   You are a new resident of Missouri and want to drive, even if you have a 
driver license from another state.
•   You are an out-of-state commercial driver who has moved to Missouri 
within the last 30 days.  (Please refer to the Missouri Commercial Driver 
License Manual.)
Certain persons are not required to obtain a Missouri driver license.  You do 
not need a Missouri driver license if:
•    You are a member of the armed forces and you have a valid driver 
license from your home state.
•    You are a full-time student and you have a valid driver license from your 
home state.
•    You operate or temporarily operate/move any farm tractor or implement 
on a highway for agri-related purposes.
You are required to carry your driver license or permit when you drive.  If 
any law enforcement officer asks to see your driver license or permit, you 
must present it.  It is against the law for you to allow anyone else to use 
your license or permit.
TIP! Anyone obtaining a new license or permit is required to show verification 
of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and Missouri 
residential address. These requirements are explained in detail later in this 
If you are under 21 years of age, you will be issued a permit identifying you 
as a minor.
Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15 
This is the first step in Missouri’s Graduated Driver License Program for 
young drivers.  Generally, this permit allows a young person to learn to drive 
with the supervision of a licensed adult.  See later in this chapter for detailed 
Motorcycle Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15½ or 16 
You may apply for a motorcycle instruction permit to learn to operate a 
motorcycle or motortricycle.  The age you are eligible to apply may be 15½ 
or 16 years, as described below.
15½ years of age (15 years and 182 days) 
The Motorcycle Instruction Permit will only be issued if you have 
successfully completed an approved motorcycle rider training course. 
You must pass the Class F and Class M written, vision, and road sign 

tests.  You must also have the written consent of your parent or legal 
guardian.  This permit allows daylight driving only, within a 50-mile radius 
of home, a motorcycle of no larger than 250 cc, and no passengers.
16 years of age or older 
If you are 16 years old or older you may apply for a motorcycle 
instruction permit, but the motorcycle rider training course is not required. 
If you do not have a valid driver license, you must take the Class F and 
Class M written tests to receive a motorcycle instruction permit. 
When you are ready, you may take the motorcycle driving test and pay the 
appropriate fee to become motorcycle qualified.
For more information on Missouri’s laws on motorcycles, please obtain a 
copy of the Motorcycle Operator Manual at the Missouri Highway Patrol 
testing station or at one of our license offices.
If you are under 21 years of age, you will be issued a license identifying you 
as a minor.  When you reach age 21, you may apply and pay for another 
driver license (without the minor indication) or wait until your under-21 
license expires.
Intermediate License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 16 
This is the second step in Missouri’s Graduated Driver License program 
for young drivers.  Generally, this license allows a young person certain 
restricted driving privileges.  See later in this chapter for detailed information.
Full Driver License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 18 
This is the basic driver license, also called an operator license.  You must 
have a Class F license to operate any motor vehicle (other than one requiring 
you to have a Class A, B, C, or E license.)  The Class F license does not 
allow you to drive a motorcycle unless the license shows the Motorcycle (M) 
endorsement.  Endorsements will be discussed later in this chapter.  You 
must pass the Class F written, vision, road sign, and driving tests.
For-Hire License (Class E) — Eligible Age: 18 
When you test for a Class E license, the written exam will include questions 
based on the complete driver guide, but mainly Chapter 15 (Commercial 
Driver Licenses).  You must also pass the vision and road sign tests.  If you 
already have a Class F license, a driving test is not required.  However, you 
must still meet the “under 21 requirements” (see page 21) for a full license if 
you apply for a Class E license at age 18.  There are a number of reasons 
you may wish to obtain a Class E license, such as:
      •   If you receive pay for driving a motor vehicle transporting 14 or fewer 
passengers (such as a driver for a day care center).
      •   If you will transport property for pay or as part of your job (such as a 
pizza or florist delivery driver).
      •   If you regularly operate a motor vehicle for your employment which 
belongs to another person and is designed to carry freight and
merchandise. The vehicle must be 26,000 pounds or less gross    
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and not required to be placarded for  
hazardous materials.

Yüklə 46,89 Kb.

Dostları ilə paylaş:
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   37

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur © 2023
rəhbərliyinə müraciət

    Ana səhifə